Dec 182017

While writing up yesterdays post on the 2017 Australasian Masters I spied out of the corner of my eye, the bulletin for the very first Australian Masters in 1987. It started as a single 10 player round robin* and was purely an Australian affair. (* 11 players actually turned up to play on the first day, with FM Guy West dropping out to take on the role of bulletin editor!)
The first tournament had some familiar faces, with GM Ian Rogers top seed, followed by then IM Darryl Johansen. Also in the field were Stephen Solomon and Eddie Levi, who both played in the 2017 IM event.
Darryl Johasen was the winner of the first edition on 7/9. Half a point back were Rogers, Solomon, and Hayden Barber.
Barber also had the pleasure of winning one of the games of the tournament, in the 5th round against Chris Depasquale. In a game that could be described as slightly ‘maniacal’ Barber broke through with sacrifices on e6, but it wasn’t until move 22 for black (22. … Rh6! was equal) that the wheels finally came off.

Barber,Haydn J (2355) – Depasquale,Chris (2290) [B02]
Australian Masters Melbourne (5), 1987new PgnViewer( { boardName: “game806”, movesFormat: “default”, pgnString:’1.e4 Nf6 2.e5 Nd5 3.c4 Nb6 4.c5 Nd5 5.Bc4 e6 6.Nc3 Nxc3 7.dxc3 b6 8.Qg4 Nc6 9.Nf3 Bb7 10.Bf4 Ne7 11.cxb6 axb6 12.O-O Nf5 13.Nd4 h5 14.Qh3 Nh4 15.Rfd1 Qe7 16.Qg3 Nxg2 17.Bg5 h4 18.Qg4 f6 19.Nxe6 dxe6 20.Bxe6 Ne1 21.Bf4 Nf3+ 22.Kf1 g5 23.Rd7 fxe5 24.Qf5 Rh6 25.Bf7+ 1-0′, pauseBetweenMoves: 500, pieceSize: 29 } );

Thirty years back
Source: Chessexpress